ATB Tallgrass Prairie

ATB Tallgrass Prairie Front
ATB Tallgrass Prairie Back


Size Fine Metal Content Diameter Weight Fineness
5 troy oz 99.99% Fine Silver 76.2 mm 155.5 gm .999 fine silver

The ATB Tall Grass Prairie Bullion, that celebrates the Tallgrass Prairie National Preserve in Kansas, is the fifth and final 2020 release in the America the Beautiful 5 ounce bullion series.

Dealers – Call the trading room to check availability at 800.375.4653.

The America the Beautiful Silver bullion coins are all composed of 99.9 percent fine silver.

The reverse design of the ATB Tallgrass Prairie bullion depicts a Regal Fritillary butterfly fluttering among Big Bluestem and Indian grasses, two of the preserve’s most iconic plants. This image is circled by the words “Tallgrass Prairie,” “KANSAS,” 2020,” and “E PLURIBUS UNUM.”

As with all the other ATB Quarters, the obverse displays the John Flanagan’s portrait of George Washington that is found on circulating quarters. The bullion coins are exact duplicates of the quarter dollars issued, with the exception of the size, their silver composition and their edges. The edges of circulating quarters have 119 reeds, but ATB coins have flat edges with incused edge lettering That denote the coin’s fineness and weight.

Before the rise of America’s farmers, the tallgrass prairie lands covered 170 million acres of North America. The Kansas Flint Hills are home to most of the scant 4% of the remaining intact grassland. The Tallgrass Preserve was established on November 12, 1996 to protect this important remnant of America’s once vast tallgrass ecosystem.

The five 2020 quarters honor:

  • American Samoa – National Park of American Samoa
  • Connecticut – Weir Farm National Historic Site
  • U.S. Virgin Islands – Salt River Bay National Historical Park and Ecological Preserve
  • Vermont – Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller National Historical Park
  • Kansas – Tallgrass Prairie National Preserve

The America the Beautiful 5 oz. Silver Quarter Series began in 2010 to commemorate national parks, monuments, and historical sites. Five new coins are released each year. The 5 ounce silver bullion coins are enlargements of the same designs depicted on the quarters that are in normal circulation. One site has been selected from each state, the District of Columbia and each of the five U.S. Territories — for the combined 56 locations honored between 2010 and 2021.